2014 MLS Schedule is out: Chivas USA to play 13 Sunday games, home will be StubHub Center once again

Chivas USA have games to play next year - they just need a coach and players. - Kelvin Kuo-USA TODAY Sports

Hope you like having Chivas USA games on Sunday!

MLS released their 2014 regular season schedule today, and that means Chivas USA's schedule is out. They open the season March 9 at home against the Chicago Fire. Before we get to the rest of the games themselves (listed below) there are a couple of notes to go along with the schedule.

First, the team's announcement came with the acknowledgment that they will be playing in the LA Galaxy's stadium yet again next season for their home games. Although that isn't a surprise, and it has been reported Chivas signed a lease agreement through 2014, there has been consternation among a sizable contingent of the team's fans that they still have not only not found a permanent stadium of their own, but are also going to literally remain in the Galaxy's shadow.

Additionally, the tentative national TV broadcast schedule was announced along with the schedule, and Chivas USA will be on UniMas seven times, and Univision Deportes three times. All of the editions of the 2014 SuperClasico will be carried on either of those channels. Chivas and MLS are apparently going all in on the Goats being the main Spanish-language team in the league, as they are on the Spanish networks more than any other team in 2014. However, on the flip side Chivas will have no national broadcasts on the ESPN or NBC networks, so if you are somebody who has to hear English with your games, you won't be able to do that on a national level with Chivas. No word about any local TV broadcasts for the other 24 games of the season, but that often comes around closer to the start of the season.

Probably due to a combination of the stadium situation and the TV schedule, Chivas will be playing a total of 13 matches on Sundays in 2014. There tend to be fewer games those days, so they can have more of a spotlight, I suppose, but I'd guess Sunday isn't a popular slot league wide or else other teams would want to play that day.

Date Opponent (H/A) TV Time (PT)
March 9 (Sunday) Chicago Fire (H) UniMas 12 pm
March 16 (Sunday) Vancouver Whitecaps (H) 4 pm
March 22 (Saturday) FC Dallas (A) 5:30 pm
March 30 (Sunday) New York Red Bulls (A) UniMas 12 pm
April 6 (Sunday) LA Galaxy (H) UniMas 12 pm
April 12 (Saturday) Portland Timbers (A) 7:30 pm
April 19 (Saturday) Seattle Sounders (H) 7:30 pm
April 26 (Saturday) San Jose Earthquakes (A) 7:30 pm
May 3 (Saturday) Houston Dynamo (H) 7:30 pm
May 11 (Sunday) Colorado Rapids (A) UniMas 12 pm
May 17 (Saturday) FC Dallas (A) 5:30 pm
May 28 (Wednesday) Portland Timbers (H) 7:30 pm
May 31 (Saturday) Philadelphia Union (H)
7:30 pm
June 8 (Sunday) LA Galaxy (A) UDN 5 pm
June 11 (Wednesday) Seattle Sounders (H) 8 pm
June 28 (Saturday) Real Salt Lake (H) 7:30 pm
July 2 (Wednesday) San Jose Earthquakes (A) 7:30 pm
July 5 (Saturday) Montreal Impact (H) 7:30 pm
July 12 (Saturday) Vancouver Whitecaps (A) TBD
July 20 (Sunday) D.C. United (A) UDN 5 pm
July 26 (Saturday) Colorado Rapids (A) 6 pm
August 3 (Sunday) FC Dallas (H) 7 pm
August 9 (Saturday) Portland Timbers (A) 7:30 pm
August 16 (Saturday) Vancouver Whitecaps (H) 7:30 pm
August 23 (Saturday) New England Revolution (A) 4:30 pm
August 31 (Sunday) LA Galaxy (H) UDN 5 pm
September 7 (Sunday) Columbus Crew (A) UniMas 12 pm
September 13 (Saturday) Sporting Kansas City (H) 7:30 pm
September 21 (Sunday) Toronto FC (A) UniMas 12 pm
September 27 (Saturday) Seattle Sounders (A) TBD
October 5 (Sunday) Real Salt Lake (H) 4 pm
October 11 (Saturday) Colorado Rapids (H) 7:30 pm
October 22 (Wednesday) Real Salt Lake (A) 6:30 pm
October 26 (Sunday) San Jose Earthquakes (H) UniMas 12 pm

Another general remark about the overall schedule: MLS will be taking a break during the 2014 World Cup group stage, between June 12-24, not only so people can focus on the World Cup but also to help teams that will have players out on international duty in Brazil at that time. Will Chivas have any players at the World Cup? We shall see.

So, what do you think of the schedule? Any games jump out at you? Do you like having Sunday games? Leave a comment below!

More from The Goat Parade:

SB Nation Featured Video
X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join The Goat Parade

You must be a member of The Goat Parade to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at The Goat Parade. You should read them.

Join The Goat Parade

You must be a member of The Goat Parade to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at The Goat Parade. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9353_tracker